St Peter's Church Freston
In the Domesday Book of 1086, the Manor of Freston is listed as “ woodland, meadows and livestock along with four smallholdings, a watermill and a wooden church” presumed to be on the site now occupied by the present church of St. Peters. This early 14th.century building lists its first “incumbent” as early as 1303 and has been in continual worship from that date.
It has been “knocked about a bit” during the last 700 years as have most buildings of worship and at the latter end of the 19th century was in a ruinous state. The Anglican revival, prompted by the Oxford Movement saw its restoration in 1875 by the local architect R T Orr who sensitively restored several windows including the stunning east window and the 16th C tower, the pulpit and altar. The roof was also replaced in its entirety having been almost non-existent in the late 19th C. and the whole church was re-floored completely at the same time. St. Peters also has a historic lych-gate erected in 1897 to celebrate the Diamond Jubilee of Queen Victoria. Also in the churchyard is one of only two wooden war memorials in the country. This was erected through public subscription and commemorates the fallen of Freston in the 1st World War. There is attached to the memorial a brass plaque dedicated to the only death in service from Freston in the 2nd World war.
Our Church Wardens:
Malcolm Farman Lay Elder
St Peter's Freston will have a service on alternate Sundays and be open for private prayer (subject to availability of Churchwardens) Tuesdays and Fridays between 9.30 & 11.30 am